Otago Polytechnic

Congratulations to the Portage Ceramic Awards winners for 2017. The annual awards and exhibition provide a vital platform to showcase the diversity of ceramic artists nationwide. The Premier Portage Ceramic Award carries a prize of $15,000. Up to three Merit Awards totaling $3000 are also on offer. This year’s prize selection also included a residency at Guldagergaard International Ceramic Research Centre in Denmark.

A number of entrants with a current or past affiliation with the Dunedin School of Arts Ceramics Studio were selected as finalists including: Blue Black, Madeleine Child,Kate Fitzharris, Richard Stratton, Amanda Shanley, Bridgit Day, Michael Potter, Chris Weaver, Richard Stratton and Cheryl Lucas.

The Premier Prize for was awarded to Richard Stratton for his work Forced Turned Teapot. The Premier Award was presented by this year’s judge Emma Budgen at a ceremony in West Auckland’s Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery.

Amanda Shanley and Cheryl Lucas also received  Merit Awards for their works. Read more ...

(image credit: Bridgit Day)




Published on 22 November 2017

Orderdate: 22 Nov 2017
Expiry: 22 Feb 2018