Search the Otago Polytechnic website

Important dates 2022


Some programmes may have slightly different start/end dates from what is shown below. Please email info@op.ac.nz if you have any questions. 

> See here for our Auckland International Campus study blocks  


2022 Certificate programmes semester dates  
 

Date Event

Mon 14 - Wed 16 February 

Orientation for international students 

Fri 18 Feb

Pōwhiri for Māori learners

 

Mon 21 February - Thu 14 April 

(15 April is Good Friday)

Semester one (term one)

Sat 16 April - Sun 1 May 

Semester break/holiday 

Mon 2 May - Fri 1 July

Semester one (term two)

Sat 2 July - Sun 17 July

Semester break/holiday 

Mon 11 - Wed 13 July 

Orientation for international students

Mon 18 July - Fri 30 September

Semester two (term three)

Sat 1 October - Sun 16 October 

Semester break/holiday

Mon 17 October - Fri 25 November 

Semester two (term four)


2022 
Diploma/Degree programmes semester dates    

Date Event

Mon 14 - Wed 16 February 

 

Orientation for international learners

 

Fri 18 February 

Pōwhiri for Māori learners

Mon 21 February - Thu 14 April 

(15 April is Good Friday)

Semester one (term one)

Sat 16 April - Sun 1 May 

Semester break/holiday 

Mon 2 May - Thu 23 June 

(24 June is Matariki)

Semester one (term two)

Sat 25 June - Sun 17 July

Semester break/holiday 

Mon 11 - Wed 13 July 

Orientation for international learners

Mon 18 July - Fri 30 September

Semester two (term three)

Sat 1 October - Sun 16 October 

Semester break/holiday

Mon 17 October - Fri 18 November 

Semester two (term four)


2022 Graduation dates

Date Event Location

Mon 28 February 2022

Auckland graduation

Auckland Town Hall

 

Thu 10 March 2022

Māori Pre-Grad

Dunedin Campus

Fri 11 March 2022

Dunedin and Central Graduation 

Dunedin Town Hall

Thu 15 December 2022

Māori Pre-Grad

Dunedin Campus

Fri 16 December 2022

Dunedin and Central Graduation 

Dunedin Town Hall


2022 Public Holidays and Anniversary Days

Date Event Location affected

Wed 5 January 2022

Otago Polytechnic reopens after the Christmas break

All campuses reopen

Mon 31 January 2022

Auckland Anniversary Day observed

Auckland campus closed

Mon 7 February 2022

Waitangi Day observed

All campuses closed

Thu 10 February 2022

All staff development day 

Campuses open

Mon 21 March 2022

Otago Anniversary Day

Dunedin and Central Otago campuses closed

Fri 15 - Tues 19 April 2022

Easter 

All campuses closed 

Mon 25 April 2022

ANZAC Day

All campuses closed

Mon 6 June 2022

Queen's Birthday 

All campuses closed

Fri 24 June 2022

Matariki

All campuses closed 

Thu 6 October 2022

All staff development day

Campuses open

Mon 24 October 2022

Labour Day

All campuses closed

Fri 23 December 2022 - Tue 3 January 2023

Otago Polytechnic is closed for the Christmas break

All campuses closed

Wed 4 January 2023

Otago Polytechnic reopens 

All campuses open