Otago Polytechnic

Administration

Capture2
  Kylie Maihi
Operations Coordinator Kylie.Maihi@op.ac.nz

Days of Work Monday, Tuesday and ThursdayKylie joined the Otago Polytechnic in 2017 coming from an Industry Training Background with a Degree in Physical Education. Kylie works with the IT Programmes providing administrative and operational support to both students and staff.

Head of Department

LSMITH
  Lesley Smith
Assoc Director: Quality Servic Lesley.Smith@op.ac.nz

Since graduating with a BIT in 2000, Lesley has worked in the roles of Senior Lecturer, Programme Manager and finally Head of School (since 2007). In 2013 the Schools of IT and Business were merged so Lesley became the Head of the new College of Enterprise and Development. A key part of her role is to build connections with local businesses, develop opportunities for knowledge transfer and to ensure the College is preparing students with the work ready skills they will need in the future.

Publications and Research

Mann,S., Smith,L. & Smith, H. (2012) Request for collaborators: SQUAWK. in Lopez, M., Verhaart. M (eds) 25th Annual Computing and Information Technology Education and Research in New Zealand. Christchurch 7-10th Oct. p147

View more research here

Lecturers

Adon
  Adon Moskal
Lecturer Adon.Moskal@op.ac.nz

My profile...

Publications and Research

McDonald, J., Moskal, A.C.M., Gunn, C., & Donald, C. (2018) Using in-class text analytics to explore student-teacher dialogue. Chapter 13 in From data and analytics to the classroom: Translating learning analytics for teachers Lodge, J., Horvath, J.C., & Corrin, L. (eds). Routledge.

View more research here
dale2
  Dale Parsons
Principal Lecturer Dale.Parsons@op.ac.nz

Dale is a Principal Lecturer in the School of Information Technology. She teaches programming in years 1 and 2 and Multi-media and Training in years 2 and 3. Her main area of research is in Computing Education, the focus for 2012 was pair programming and version control software.

Publications and Research

Wood,K., Parsons,D.,Gasson J., and Haden,P. (2016) Flying or Flailing: A Study of Affect when Learning to Program Lightning Talk, International Computing Education Research Workshop, International Computing Education Research Conference, Melbourne, VIC, Australia, September 8–12, 2016.
Peer reviewed abstract.

View more research here
drozado
  David Rozado
Senior Lecturer David.Rozado@op.ac.nz

David Rozado holds a B.Sc. in Information Systems from Boston University, a M.Sc. in Bioinformatics from the Free University of Berlin and a Ph.D in Computer Science from the Autonomous University of Madrid. David joined Otago Polytechnic early in 2015. His main area of research is in Human computer interaction with a focus on accessibility software and assistive technologies for people with motor impairment. He currently teaches Web programming 3, Databases 3 (with an emphasis in data miningmachine learning) and final year Project.

Publications and Research

Rozado, D. and Haden, P. (2017) Otago Polytechnic Accessibility Software Hub: An Open Source Repository of Accessibility Software for Motor Impairment The 29th Australian Conference on Human-Computer Interaction
Brisbane 28th November -1st December, 2017
http://www.ozchi.org/2017/program/

View more research here
eallen
Elise Allen
Lecturer Elise.Allen@op.ac.nz

  Krissi Wood
Lecturer Krissi.Wood@op.ac.nz

Krissi is a BIT graduate from 2005, who has returned to the Polytechnic after a number of years in Industry. She is a lecturer in the School of Information Technology, where she teaches Programming, PC Maintenance and Web programming in first year and Databases in second year. Her main area of research is in Computing Education and the focus for 2012 was pair programming and version control software.

Publications and Research

Haden,P.,Gasson J.,Parsons,D., and Wood,K. (2017) Student Affect in CS1: Insights from an Easy Data Collection Tool. In Proceedings of 17th Koli Calling International Conference on Computing Education Research. Koli, Finland.Pages: 40-49 doi>10.1145/3141880.3141881.

View more research here
LynBlair S
  Lyn Blair
Senior Lecturer Lyn.Blair@op.ac.nz

Lyn has been working for Otago Polytechnic for 10 years. Before this, she worked with adults in Literacy and numeracy. She currently teaches computing, Organisational management, and Busienss Communication in both the degree and diploma programmes.

5ab007c7e7b62
Michael Holtz
Lecturer Michael.Holtz@op.ac.nz

NathanR
Nathan Rountree
Principal Lecturer Nathan.Rountree@op.ac.nz

padmiraal
Paul Admiraal
Lecturer Paul.Admiraal@op.ac.nz

Peter Brook
Principal Lecturer Peter.Brook@op.ac.nz

  Rachel Trounson
Lecturer Rachel.Trounson@op.ac.nz

Graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (majoring in Education) from Otago University, and then graduated with a Bachelor of Information Technology from Otago Polytechnic in 1999. I started teaching night classes at Otago Polytechnic while in my final year of the BIT degree. I currently teach in the Certificate in Information Technology level 3 and level 4, focusing on Software Applications and Programming.

Publications and Research

Smith,H, Addison, A., Batuigas, L., Bracken, D., Caukill, M., Cook, S., Davy,J. Haden, P., McCarthy, C., McNab, S., Mann, S., Morton, S. Mumford, J., Otto, M., Parsons, D., Sutton, K., Trounson,, R. Whitney A. & Zhao.S. (2013) Relationships in Community Engagement. In Lopez, M, & Verhaart, (eds) Proceedings of CITRENZ 2013, Hamilton 6-9th Oct 2013 p130-135 http://www.citrenz.ac.nz/conferences/2013/pdf/2013CITRENZ_2_Smith43_CommunityEngagement.pdf

View more research here
Thomas Laurenson
Lecturer Thomas.Laurenson@op.ac.nz

vorntrooper3
Vaughn Malkin
Lecturer Vaughn.Malkin@op.ac.nz

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

HamishS
  Hamish Smith
Team Leader Hamish.Smith@op.ac.nz

Hamish is based in Paraparaumu in 2015 and is working from distance. Hamish has been teaching computing since 1994 and teaching at Otago Polytechnic since 2007. Since 2009, his roles have been split between Programme Manager Team Leader and teaching in the fields of software packages, computer networking, hardware, and project development. Hamish is involved in his local church, as well as other community involvement. He has a passion for supporting his local communities.

Publications and Research

Smith,H, Addison, A., Batuigas, L., Bracken, D., Caukill, M., Cook, S., Davy,J. Haden, P., McCarthy, C., McNab, S., Mann, S., Morton, S. Mumford, J., Otto, M., Parsons, D., Sutton, K., Trounson,, R. Whitney A. & Zhao.S. (2013) Relationships in Community Engagement. In Lopez, M, & Verhaart, (eds) Proceedings of CITRENZ 2013, Hamilton 6-9th Oct 2013 p130-135 http://www.citrenz.ac.nz/conferences/2013/pdf/2013CITRENZ_2_Smith43_CommunityEngagement.pdf

View more research here
Joy Gasson
Team Leader Joy.Gasson@op.ac.nz

Support Staff

Donna Kennedy
Lecturer Donna.Kennedy@op.ac.nz

Technicians

0 1
Rob Broadley
Systems Administrator Rob.Broadley@op.ac.nz