Otago Polytechnic

Lecturers

IMG 20190404 185515 334
  Adon Moskal
Senior Lecturer Adon.Moskal@op.ac.nz

Adon Moskal is a senior lecturer in IT at Otago Polytechnic. His current research interests are around learning analytics, student evaluation of teaching, and ways of incorporating technology in the classroom to support teaching and learning.

View research here

dale2
  Dale Parsons
Principal Lecturer Dale.Parsons@op.ac.nz

Dale is a Principal Lecturer in the School of Information Technology. She teaches programming in the Bachelor of Information Technology. Her main area of research is in Computing Education.

View research here

drozado
  David Rozado
Principal Lecturer David.Rozado@op.ac.nz

David Rozado holds a B.Sc. in Information Systems from Boston University, a M.Sc. in Bioinformatics from the Free University of Berlin and a Ph.D in Computer Science from the Autonomous University of Madrid. David joined Otago Polytechnic early in 2015. His main areas of research are Machine Learning and Accessibility software for users with motor impairment. He currently teaches Data Science & Machine Intelligence, Algorithms & Data Structures, and final year Project.

View research here

Donna Photo1 v2
Donna Kennedy
Lecturer Donna.Kennedy@op.ac.nz

eallen
Elise Allen
Senior Lecturer Elise.Allen@op.ac.nz

shasan staff FaisalHasan 002 v2
Faisal Hasan
Lecturer Faisal.Hasan@op.ac.nz

RGP 88
Grayson Orr
Lecturer Grayson.Orr@op.ac.nz

hymie 1
  Hymie Abd-Latif
Senior Lecturer Suhaimi.Latif@op.ac.nz

Hymie joined Otago Polytechnic Auckland International Campus on March 2016 then later Otago Polytechnic (in Dunedin) August 2019, as a Senior Lecturer for Bachelor of Information Technology. He has an M.Sc. in Computer Information Engineering from International Islamic University Malaysia, a PhD in Engineering from Massey University New Zealand and a Graduate Diploma in Tertiary Education from Capable NZ Otago Polytechnic.

He worked on Protocol Design for Real-time Multimedia Communication over High-Speed Wireless Networks, during is Doctoral degree where he developed a novel Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol by optimizing the contention and contention-free periods in the superframe according to the Quality of Service (QoS) requirements of the traversing interactive multimedia applications traffic.

Hymie is actively conducting research in Wireless Body Area Network, Assistive technology, Educational Technology and Co-creation of Assessments in TVET.

www.linkedin.com/in/drhymielatif
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0941-7721

View research here

Joy Gasson
Team Leader Joy.Gasson@op.ac.nz

IMG 20140503 203527247
  Krissi Wood
Lecturer Krissi.Wood@op.ac.nz

Krissi is a BIT graduate from 2005, who has returned to the Polytechnic after a number of years in Industry. She is a lecturer in the School of Information Technology, where she teaches Programming and Databases in the Bachelor of Information Technology. Her main area of research is in Computing Education.

View research here

0 2
Martin Junek
Lecturer Martin.Junek@op.ac.nz

padmiraal
Paul Admiraal
Lecturer Paul.Admiraal@op.ac.nz

Peter Brook
Principal Lecturer Peter.Brook@op.ac.nz

  Rachel Trounson
Lecturer Rachel.Trounson@op.ac.nz

Graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (majoring in Education) from Otago University, and then graduated with a Bachelor of Information Technology from Otago Polytechnic in 1999. I started teaching night classes at Otago Polytechnic while in my final year of the BIT degree. I currently teach in the Certificate in Information Technology level 3 and level 4, focusing on Software Applications and Programming.

View research here

vorntrooper3
Vaughn Malkin
Lecturer Vaughn.Malkin@op.ac.nz

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

Hamish Smith
  Hamish Smith
Team Leader Hamish.Smith@op.ac.nz

Hamish has been teaching computing since 1994 and teaching at Otago Polytechnic since 2007. Since 2009, his roles have been split between Programme Manager / Team Leader and teaching in the fields of software packages, computer networking, hardware, operating systems and project development. Hamish is involved in his local church, as well as other community involvement. He has a passion for supporting his local communities.

View research here

5ab007c7e7b62
Michael Holtz
Senior Lecturer Michael.Holtz@op.ac.nz

Technicians

0 1
  Rob Broadley
Systems Administrator Rob.Broadley@op.ac.nz

Rob Broadley is the Systems Administrator for the Information Technology programmes at Otago Polytechnic, a role he has held since 2015. Rob has a BSc (Hons) in Mathematics and a BA in Philosophy, both of which include studied in Computer and Information Science. He has experience supporting academic and corporate IT environments, from 1st level support through to server administration and contractor relationship management.