Otago Polytechnic

Administration

btuxford
Bronwyn Tuxford
Administrator Bronwyn.Tuxford@op.ac.nz

Capture4
  Kylie Maihi
Operations Coordinator Kylie.Maihi@op.ac.nz

Kylie works with the IT Programmes providing operational and administrative support to both students and staff.

Days of Work: Monday, Tuesday and Thursday

Lecturers

Adon
  Adon Moskal
Lecturer Adon.Moskal@op.ac.nz

My profile...

Publications and Research

McDonald, J., Moskal, A.C.M., Gunn, C., & Donald, C. (2018) Using in-class text analytics to explore student-teacher dialogue. Chapter 13 in From data and analytics to the classroom: Translating learning analytics for teachers Lodge, J., Horvath, J.C., & Corrin, L. (eds). Routledge.

View more research here
dale2
  Dale Parsons
Principal Lecturer Dale.Parsons@op.ac.nz

Dale is a Principal Lecturer in the School of Information Technology. She teaches programming in the Bachelor of Information Technology. Her main area of research is in Computing Education.

Publications and Research

Wood,K., Parsons,D.,Gasson J., and Haden,P. (2016) Flying or Flailing: A Study of Affect when Learning to Program. Lightning Talk, International Computing Education Research Workshop, International Computing Education Research Conference, Melbourne, VIC, Australia, September 8–12, 2016.
Peer reviewed abstract.

View more research here
drozado
  David Rozado
Senior Lecturer David.Rozado@op.ac.nz

David Rozado holds a B.Sc. in Information Systems from Boston University, a M.Sc. in Bioinformatics from the Free University of Berlin and a Ph.D in Computer Science from the Autonomous University of Madrid. David joined Otago Polytechnic early in 2015. His main areas of research are Machine Learning and Accessibility software for users with motor impairment. He currently teaches Data Science & Machine Intelligence, Algorithms & Data Structures, and final year Project.

Publications and Research

Rozado, D. (2018) Gaze Control Toolbar: A low-cost solution for gaze based computer interaction 16th International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs,July 11-13, 2018; Pre-Conference July 9-10, 2018

View more research here
Donna Kennedy
Lecturer Donna.Kennedy@op.ac.nz

eallen
Elise Allen
Lecturer Elise.Allen@op.ac.nz

IMG 20140503 203527247
  Krissi Wood
Lecturer Krissi.Wood@op.ac.nz

Krissi is a BIT graduate from 2005, who has returned to the Polytechnic after a number of years in Industry. She is a lecturer in the School of Information Technology, where she teaches Programming, PC Maintenance and Web programming in first year and Databases in second year. Her main area of research is in Computing Education; and the focus for 2012 was pair programming and version control software.

Publications and Research

Haden, P., Gasson J., Parsons, D., & Wood, K. (2017) Student Affect in CS1: Insights from an Easy Data Collection Tool. In Proceedings of 17th Koli Calling International Conference on Computing Education Research, Koli, Finland, pp 40-49. doi>10.1145/3141880.3141881.

View more research here
Current photo 2018
  Lyn Blair
Senior Lecturer Lyn.Blair@op.ac.nz

Lyn has been working for Otago Polytechnic for 10 years. Before this, she worked with adults in Literacy and numeracy. She currently teaches computing, Organisational management, and Busienss Communication in both the degree and diploma programmes.

5ab007c7e7b62
Michael Holtz
Lecturer Michael.Holtz@op.ac.nz

NathanR
Nathan Rountree
Principal Lecturer Nathan.Rountree@op.ac.nz

padmiraal
Paul Admiraal
Lecturer Paul.Admiraal@op.ac.nz

Peter Brook
Principal Lecturer Peter.Brook@op.ac.nz

  Rachel Trounson
Lecturer Rachel.Trounson@op.ac.nz

Graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (majoring in Education) from Otago University, and then graduated with a Bachelor of Information Technology from Otago Polytechnic in 1999. I started teaching night classes at Otago Polytechnic while in my final year of the BIT degree. I currently teach in the Certificate in Information Technology level 3 and level 4, focusing on Software Applications and Programming.

Publications and Research

Smith,H, Addison, A., Batuigas, L., Bracken, D., Caukill, M., Cook, S., Davy,J. Haden, P., McCarthy, C., McNab, S., Mann, S., Morton, S. Mumford, J., Otto, M., Parsons, D., Sutton, K., Trounson,, R. Whitney A. & Zhao.S. (2013) Relationships in Community Engagement. In Lopez, M, & Verhaart, (eds) Proceedings of CITRENZ 2013, Hamilton 6-9th Oct 2013 p130-135 http://www.citrenz.ac.nz/conferences/2013/pdf/2013CITRENZ_2_Smith43_CommunityEngagement.pdf

View more research here
Thomas Laurenson
Lecturer Thomas.Laurenson@op.ac.nz

vorntrooper3
Vaughn Malkin
Lecturer Vaughn.Malkin@op.ac.nz

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

HamishS
  Hamish Smith
Team Leader Hamish.Smith@op.ac.nz

Hamish has been teaching computing since 1994 and teaching at Otago Polytechnic since 2007. Since 2009, his roles have been split between Programme Manager / Team Leader and teaching in the fields of software packages, computer networking, hardware, operating systems and project development. Hamish is involved in his local church, as well as other community involvement. He has a passion for supporting his local communities.

Publications and Research

Smith,H, Addison, A., Batuigas, L., Bracken, D., Caukill, M., Cook, S., Davy,J. Haden, P., McCarthy, C., McNab, S., Mann, S., Morton, S. Mumford, J., Otto, M., Parsons, D., Sutton, K., Trounson,, R. Whitney A. & Zhao.S. (2013) Relationships in Community Engagement. In Lopez, M, & Verhaart, (eds) Proceedings of CITRENZ 2013, Hamilton 6-9th Oct 2013 p130-135 http://www.citrenz.ac.nz/conferences/2013/pdf/2013CITRENZ_2_Smith43_CommunityEngagement.pdf

View more research here
Joy Gasson
Team Leader Joy.Gasson@op.ac.nz

Technicians

0 1
Rob Broadley
Systems Administrator Rob.Broadley@op.ac.nz