Search the Otago Polytechnic website

Apprenticeship Managers

GrantBeel S
Grant Beel
Lecturer Grant.Beel@op.ac.nz

Lecturers

20201208 084758 2 v2
  Alan Fraser
Senior Lecturer Alan.Fraser@op.ac.nz

Alan has worked in the building industry for twenty-five years, mostly in the residential sector. For the last eight years he has been a self-employed builder in Dunedin. Alan started as a carpentry lecturer at Otago Polytechnic in November 2012. He teaches the pre-carpentry course to students working towards gaining a carpentry apprenticeship. His teaching involves a mix of theory and practical work, culminating in the construction of a 3-4 bedroom house.

Bill Morrison
Senior Lecturer Bill.Morrison@op.ac.nz

Brian T2
Brian Turner
Senior Lecturer Brian.Turner@op.ac.nz

Finnie
  David Finnie
Principal Lecturer David.Finnie@op.ac.nz

David's academic field is in Construction Law and Procurement. He recently completed doctoral level research in early-contractor involvement (ECI). He has written a range of journal articles, and technical papers, presented at international conferences, and has advised on a number of projects, including a proposed $150 million re-development of Scott Base, Antarctica.

Beginning his career in construction as an apprentice carpenter, David then worked for six years as a Contracts Managers for a large construction company before beginning teaching in 2010. He progressed his studies, completing a National Diploma in Quantity Surveying, a Bachelor of Construction (Quantity Surveying), and Masters of Construction (Construction Law) and PhD in Construction.

David serves on the SCL NZ National Committee, the New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors (NZIQS) National Research Committee. He is the Educational representative on the NZIQS Dunedin Committee and serves on the Research Committee for the College of Engineering, Construction and Living Sciences. David also acts as an NZQA construction degree monitor and has served on NZQA panels for new construction degrees, and has consulted to TANZ eCampus.

View research here

20201208 084748 2
  Kevin Dunbar
Senior Lecturer Kevin.Dunbar@op.ac.nz

Kevin has enjoyed working at the Otago Polytechnic over the last four years. He started as a Technician before progressing to lecturer in January 2010. Kevin has thirty years industry experience and knowledge to pass on. He obtained his teaching certificate in 2011 and lectures in carpentry. He likes working in this interesting and vibrant industry and enjoys getting students skilled and ready for work.


mthompson
  Matt Thompson
Principal Lecturer Matt.Thompson@op.ac.nz

Matt started his building career in 1990. He enrolled in the pre-trade carpentry course; the same course he currently teaches. After Matt completed an apprenticeship, he worked in Dunedin as a builder before going overseas. He later returned to Dunedin and began teaching Carpentry at Otago Polytechnic in 2004. Matt is now a Principal Lecturer and is passionate about the building industry and getting people ready to work in it.

View research here

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

Graham Burgess
Housing Projects Co-ordinator Graham.Burgess@op.ac.nz

Technicians

Jamie Todd
Jamie.Todd@op.ac.nz