Otago Polytechnic

Head of Department

RichardNyhof S
  Richard Nyhof
Head of College Richard.Nyhof@op.ac.nz

Richard began at Otago Polytechnic in 1985, having completed honours degrees in Mathematics and Physics at the University of Otago. He has since completed a Masters in Planning. Over the years, he has taught math related subjects across most schools in Otago Polytechnic, and spent time seconded to Learning and Teaching working on curriculum development.He is currently Head of College ECL.

View research here

Lecturers

DSC06388
Avinda Weerakoon
Senior Lecturer Avinda.Weerakoon@op.ac.nz

Myself 1
  Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer Dave.Maslin@op.ac.nz

Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer
Mechanical Engineering

View research here

FCross
Fred Cross
Lecturer Fred.Cross@op.ac.nz

HM image
  Hamish Miller
Senior Lecturer Hamish.Miller@op.ac.nz

Hamish started his automotive industry career in Invercargill at SIT. He completed an apprenticeship and A-grade cert in rural southland, before heading overseas for five years. Returning to New Zealand, Hamish started work at Cooke Howlison Ltd. Ten years later; Hamish began tutoring at OP and is now Programme Manager. He works closely with industry leaders to ensure students are given the skills they need to match the current automotive industry climate.

View research here

CORP staff HanaCadzow 001 003
Hana Cadzow
Senior Lecturer Hana.Cadzow@op.ac.nz

joellen
Joelle Peters
Senior Lecturer Joelle.Peters@op.ac.nz

CORP STAFF headshots KevinOneill opt
  Kevin O'Neill
Senior Lecturer Kevin.O'Neill@op.ac.nz

Kevin is a fully qualified ‘A' grade automotive technician, in both auto mechanical and auto electrical. He has been working in the automotive industry for over fifteen years in Dunedin, Christchurch and Perth – both in large workshops and mines. In the last six years, Kevin has focused on electronic fault finding and diagnostics in modern vehicles. He started working at Otago Polytechnic in January of 2012, and teaches our level 3 automotive course.

Kev Photo 2018
  Kevin Tansley
Associate Head of College Kevin.Tansley@op.ac.nz

Kevin has an extensive background in technical civil engineering, specifically in traffic engineering, road design, contract administration, operational engineering and asset management. He graduated with an NZCE (Civil) in 1985, and has since gained a National Diploma in Adult Education and Training. Kevin has been teaching at the OP for over 10 years, and was awarded an OPSA Staff Award for teaching in 2007.

View research here

mark
Mark Harmer
Senior Lecturer Mark.Harmer@op.ac.nz

Matt King head2
  Matt King
Associate Professor Matthew.King@op.ac.nz

Courses: Design, Engineering Project, Manufacturing Processes, Fluid Mechanics
Coordinator of the Investigative Sciences Consultancy

View research here

CORP Staff MichaelMullens dsc6400
  Michael Mullens
Senior Lecturer Michael.Mullens@op.ac.nz

Michael spent the first part of his career working in telecommunication engineering with companies such as AT&T, Philips, Alcatel and Siemens. He has worked in senior management roles in Europe, the United States and Australasia.

While working in Indonesia the need for sustainable development became much more of a reality which led to a career change to civil engineering, with a focus on water and sanitation. Relief and Development projects in Central and South America, Eastern Europe, South Pacific and India has given him focus to work towards social and equitable development both globally and locally.

He received an HND in Electrical Engineering from Hatfield University, a Postgraduate Certificate in Telecommunications Management from Anglia University, a MSc of Satellite Engineering from Surrey University and a PGCE in Teaching from Surrey University. His civil engineering background includes a MSc of Hydrology and Water Resource Management from University South Australia and a MSc of Infrastructure Engineering and Management from Monash University and a Bachelors of Management (Accounting) from Otago Polytechnic.

View research here

IMG 0811
Mike Keppel
Lecturer Mike.Keppel@op.ac.nz

Mike Perkins
Senior Lecturer Mike.Perkins@op.ac.nz

njaswal
Namarta Jaswal
Senior Lecturer Namarta.Jaswal@op.ac.nz

Nick Moss
Senior Lecturer Nicholas.Moss@op.ac.nz

passport 2017
  Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer Robert.Cooke@op.ac.nz

Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer - Maths

Robert joined Otago Polytechnic at the start of 2010 and teaches maths and civil engineering. Formerly, a registered civil engineer with Works Consultancy (now Opus Consultants), and then a maths, science and physics secondary school teacher, Robert now lectures in the trades certificate, engineering diploma and the C.E.E. (students from Kanazawa, Japan) courses.

View research here

  Stuart Hewson
Lecturer Stuart.Hewson@op.ac.nz

Stuart began work at the Otago Polytechnic in 2011 and brought many years of industry experience to his role as tutor in the Automech Youth Guarantee course. He trained in fitting, turning and machining; worked in appliance manufacturing; road transport engineering; tunnel boring; factory and mine maintenance and the Extra High Voltage Industry- subsations and power stations. In his current role, Stuart helps students re-engage with education through project-based learning – welding, fabricating machining and assembly. This programme also teaching teamwork, communication, problem-solving and conflict resolution.

th v3
William Phipps
Senior Lecturer William.Phipps@op.ac.nz

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

atetlow
  Adrian Tetlow
Learning Leader Adrian.Tetlow@op.ac.nz

Adrian has been lecturing at Otago Polytechnic since 2011 and is really enjoy the role. He has twenty years experience in Mechanical Engineering and worked for Scott Technology, performing a range of tasks that included: fitting, machining, designing, and onsite installation and problem solving. Adrian teaches 3D computer modeling and Hand Drawing, and spends some time in the workshop.

View research here

John Stocks
Learning Leader John.Stocks@op.ac.nz

Support Staff

Amari Storm
Technical Assistant Amari.Nyhof@op.ac.nz

Technicians

janj
Jan Jodczyk
Technician Jan.Jodczyk@op.ac.nz

Linley Doig
Technician Linley.Doig@op.ac.nz