Search the Otago Polytechnic website

Head of Engineering Technologies

atetlow
  Adrian Tetlow
Learning Leader Adrian.Tetlow@op.ac.nz

Adrian has been lecturing at Otago Polytechnic since 2011 and is really enjoy the role. He has twenty years experience in Mechanical Engineering and worked for Scott Technology, performing a range of tasks that included: fitting, machining, designing, and onsite installation and problem solving. Adrian teaches 3D computer modeling and Hand Drawing, and spends some time in the workshop.

View research here

Lecturers

DSC06388
Avinda Weerakoon
Senior Lecturer Avinda.Weerakoon@op.ac.nz

Myself 1
  Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer Dave.Maslin@op.ac.nz

Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer
Mechanical Engineering

View research here

CORP staff HanaCadzow 001 003
Hana Cadzow
Principal Lecturer Hana.Cadzow@op.ac.nz

joellen
Joelle Peters
Senior Lecturer Joelle.Peters@op.ac.nz

Kev Photo 2018
  Kevin Tansley
Associate Head of College Kevin.Tansley@op.ac.nz

Kevin has an extensive background in technical civil engineering, specifically in traffic engineering, road design, contract administration, operational engineering and asset management. He graduated with an NZCE (Civil) in 1985, and has since gained a National Diploma in Adult Education and Training. Kevin has been teaching at the OP for over 10 years, and was awarded an OPSA Staff Award for teaching in 2007.

View research here

mark
Mark Harmer
Senior Lecturer Mark.Harmer@op.ac.nz

Matt King head2
  Matt King
Associate Professor Matthew.King@op.ac.nz

Associate Professor, Academic Leader for Mechanical Engineering in the College of Engineering, Construction and Living Sciences
Coordinator of the Investigative Sciences Consultancy
Masters and Doctoral supervisor
Courses: Design, Engineering Project, Manufacturing Processes, Advanced Fluid Mechanics

Profile:
Dr. King is the Academic Leader for Mechanical Engineering and the Research Coordinator for the ECL Department. He has taught in the field of Engineering for over 20 years while also applying his research to the legal community as a Forensic Engineering expert witness on nearly 3,000 cases in New Zealand, Guam, France and the USA for the private sector as well as for Governmental institutions. He is currently the President of the New Zealand Independent Forensic Practitioners Institute.

Dr. King is also engaged in a variety of research projects with his capacity for creative problem solving including research in the fields of Risk Management, Ophthalmology, novel Biomedical devices, and Climate Shift. He is a member of the OP Ethics Board and as an Associate Professor he continues his leadership roles across the polytechnic with a focus on research, and continues to teach Engineering at Diploma and Bachelor level, as well as supervise Masters and Doctoral candidates.

View research here

CORP Staff MichaelMullens dsc6400
  Michael Mullens
Senior Lecturer Michael.Mullens@op.ac.nz

Michael spent the first part of his career working in telecommunication engineering with companies such as AT&T, Philips, Alcatel and Siemens. He has worked in senior management roles in Europe, the United States and Australasia.

While working in Indonesia the need for sustainable development became much more of a reality which led to a career change to civil engineering, with a focus on water and sanitation. Relief and Development projects in Central and South America, Eastern Europe, South Pacific and India has given him focus to work towards social and equitable development both globally and locally.

He received an HND in Electrical Engineering from Hatfield University, a Postgraduate Certificate in Telecommunications Management from Anglia University, a MSc of Satellite Engineering from Surrey University and a PGCE in Teaching from Surrey University. His civil engineering background includes a MSc of Hydrology and Water Resource Management from University South Australia and a MSc of Infrastructure Engineering and Management from Monash University and a Bachelors of Management (Accounting) from Otago Polytechnic.

View research here

IMG 0811
Mike Keppel
Senior Lecturer Mike.Keppel@op.ac.nz

njaswal
Namarta Jaswal
Senior Lecturer Namarta.Jaswal@op.ac.nz

passport 2017
  Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer Robert.Cooke@op.ac.nz

Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer - Maths

Robert joined Otago Polytechnic at the start of 2010 and teaches maths and civil engineering. Formerly, a registered civil engineer with Works Consultancy (now Opus Consultants), and then a maths, science and physics secondary school teacher, Robert now lectures in the trades certificate, engineering diploma and the C.E.E. (students from Kanazawa, Japan) courses.

View research here