Otago Polytechnic

Head of Department

490
  Sherilyn (Sherry) Lilley
Associate Head of School sherryl@op.ac.nz

Sherry is the Co Head of the School of Nursing and has been working at Otago Polytechnic since 2001. She is a Registered Nurse and holds a BN, PG Dip in Tertiary Teaching (endorsed in Clinical) and a MHeaSC (Merit). Her Masters research was based around mentoring and student learning.

Publications and Research

Lilley, S. & Walton, S. (2010). Workforce Preparation: Transition to Work Place Reality 15th South Pacific Nurses Forum , Aotea Centre, Auckland. 8-11 November 1 hour presentation.

View more research here

Administration

Michelle Wassell
School Administrator mwassell@op.ac.nz

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

Michelle Watt
Clinical Coordinator michellew@op.ac.nz

354
  Mereana Rapata-Hanning
Principal Lecturer/ Year One Coordinator mereana@op.ac.nz

Mereanas career at Otago Polytechnic began in 1996 and she is currently a Principal Lecturer and Year 1 Bachelor of Nursing Programme Manager within the School of Nursing. She is a Registered Nurse and her qualifications include a Master in Nursing and a Graduate Certificate in Tertiary Teaching. Mereanas iwi affiliations are Ngati Kuri and Te Aupouri.

Publications and Research

Wilson, D., McKinney, C & Rapata-Hanning, M (2011). Retention of indigenous nursing students in New Zealand: a cross sectional survey. Contemporary Nurse (2011) 38 (1-2)59-75

View more research here
1118
  Karole Hogarth
Principal Lecturer / Curriculum leader/ Year Two Coordinator KaroleH@op.ac.nz

Karole is a Principal Lecturer and has worked at Otago Polytechnic since 2005. During this time, she has worked within the Schools of Occupational Therapy, Midwifery and Nursing. She is a Registered Nurse (WINTEC) and holds a Bachelor of Science (First Class Honours) and a PhD in Anatomy, both from the University of Otago. Her research interests are science education, simulation, reproductive biology and technology in education.

Publications and Research

Hogath, K. (2010) Keeping men in good health: three things everyone should know about the prostate. Otago Polytechnic Health Group Research Forum. 15 October. 30 min presentation.

View more research here
861
  Jean Ross
Principal Lecturer/ Year 3 Coordinator JeanR@op.ac.nz

Jean is a Principal Lecturer and has been working at Otago Polytechnic since 2003. She is a Registered Nurse, holds a BN and a Master of Arts, and is currently studying towards her Doctorate. From 19942003, she was codirector of the National Centre for Rural Health and instrumental in the development of interdisciplinary postgraduate nursing education. In 2008, she received the Rural General Practice Network Peter Snow Memorial Award in recognition of her national contribution to rural health care.

Publications and Research

Ross, J. (2014). Editorial. Care, context and compassion change lives. School of Nursing Journal 1(1). Editorial. Care, context and compassion change lives.
http://www.op.ac.nz/study/health-and-community/nursing/nursing-journal/editorial/

View more research here
  Linda Kinniburgh
Enrolled Nurse Coordinator, Principal Lecturer lindak@op.ac.nz

Linda currently manages the Enrolled Nurse programme in the School of Nursing Teaching at Otago Polytechnic since the mid 1980s, she has an extensive nursing practice background and has taken on various management opportunities, and has been Head of School, Nursing from 2005 until 2016. Linda loves working with diverse groups of people and completed her Masters thesis on Treaty of Waitangi education.

Publications and Research

Wilson,L., Kinniburgh, L. (2009) Autoethnography: exploration of a research method. Otago Polytechnic Health Research Forum. 12 August.

View more research here

Lecturers

  Judith Roddick
Principal Lecturer jroddick@op.ac.nz

Jude is a Principal Lecturer and Year 3 Coordinator within the School of Nursing. She began working for Otago Polytechnic in 1984 and holds a RGON, MN, PGDA, PGDN and a BA. Her Masters research explored the 1918 influenza epidemic at Dunedin City Hospital.

Publications and Research

Roddick, J.A. (2013). The 1918 Influenza Epidemic: Dunedin city, it's hospital and it's nurses Dunedin Center, Dunedin. 19th Novemeber, 2013. Nurses for Children and Young People of Aotearoa Satellite Day to the Paediatric Society of new Zealand Annual Scientif Meeting "Taking it back to basics".

View more research here
  Emma Collins
Part Time Lecturer emmac@op.ac.nz

Emma CollinsParttime LecturerEmma is a Lecturer within the School of Nursing. She began working for OP in 2011 and holds a Master of Nursing, specialising in Child Health. Her background is in pediatric nursing and community child and family health, in particular, school nursing and public health. Email Emma.Collinsop.ac.nz

Publications and Research

Collins, E., Crawley,J. (2013). ePortfolios: Whats happening in undergraduate nursing education http://www.nursed.ac.nz/abstractdisplay.asp

View more research here
89
  Josephine Crawley
Senior Lecturer josiec@op.ac.nz

Josie CrawleySenior LecturerJosie has worked at Otago Polytechnic since 2000. She is a Senior Lecturer and her key foci are community nursing and nursing theory. Her qualifications include an RN from Christchurch Polytechnic, a BA and MEd (Counselling) from the University of Otago, and a GCTLT from Otago Polytechnic. Her research interests include communication, learning through narratives, storytelling and flexible learning. Email Josie.Crawleyop.ac.nz

Publications and Research

Collins, E. & Crawley, J. (2013). ePORTFOLIOS: What’s happening in undergraduate nursing education in NZ? Australasian Nurse Educators Conference. Purposeful partnerships for practice. 9-11 October 2013.

View more research here
Elizabeth (Liz) Ditzel
Principal Lecturer/ Research coordinator lizd@op.ac.nz

  Gail Foster
Lecturer (Timaru) gfoster@op.ac.nz

Gail is currently the Timaru Coordinator for the School of Nursing. Her career at Otago Polytechnic began in 2002 when she worked as a Timarubased Nursing Lecturer and her qualifications include RGON, Bachelor of Nursing and a Postgraduate Diploma in Professional Nursing. In 2007, she was nominated by her students and awarded the OPSA Staff Award.

Chris Hendry
Senior Lecturer chrish@op.ac.nz

Barbara Lowen
Principal Lecturer barbaral@op.ac.nz

Laurie Mahoney
Senior Lecturer (part-time) lauriem@op.ac.nz

Rachel Sayers
Lecturer rsayers@op.ac.nz

  Raeleen Thompson
Senior Lecturer RaeleenT@op.ac.nz

Raeleen is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Nursing and, prior to working at Otago Polytechnic, was a Nursing Lecturer in another facility. She has worked for 15 years in Nursing education and works privately as an Occupational Health Nurse in a contract position. Raeleen holds a Master of Nursing, as well as a qualification from the University of Otago in Occupational Health.

Publications and Research

Thompson, R. & Gill, A.
(2009). To Tell or Not to Tell – that is the question. Professional Emergency Care Association New Zealand. 22 May.

View more research here
  Vicki-Maree Yarker-Jones
Senior Lecturer vmyarker@op.ac.nz

Vicki is a parttime Senior Lecturer within the School of Nursing. She began working for Otago Polytechnic in 2009 and holds a Master of Arts (applied in Nursing). Her areas of expertise are professional supervisionclinical supervision, primary health and mental health. She lives in Tapanui, enjoys living a rural lifestyle and is also an award winning Craft Beer Brewer

Publications and Research

Yarker-Hitchcock, Y. (2010). Professional supervision as a model for untrained healthcare workers. Nursing and Midwifery Candidate Conference, Monash University, Australia.

View more research here
  Ruth Gardener
Part-time Lecturer ruthg@op.ac.nz

Ruth is a Lecturer in the School of Nursing with a particular interest in Primary Health Nursing. She started working at Otago Polytechnic in 2009. Ruth is a Registered Comprehensive Nurse, has worked in a wide variety of health settings and holds a Postgraduate Certificate in Public Health.

Anna Askerud
Lecturer aaskerud@op.ac.nz

  Geoffrey Harvey
Senior Lecturer gharvey@op.ac.nz

Geoffrey has a background of 25 years in acute care nursing. Most of this time has been spent in critical care. He is a Certified Emergency Nurse who is passionate about developing nurse learners within this challenging area. Geoffrey has extensive international experience, holding registration in four different countries. Geoffrey coordinates the Competence Assessment Program at Otago Polytechnic and is values the contribution that international nursing adds to the New Zealand healthcare context. He has completed a Masters Degree through the University of Newcastle and is currently working towards a Graduate Diploma of Tertiary Education.

Carol Padgett
Lecturer cpadgett@op.ac.nz

Technicians

Sheryll Malthus
Clinical/SimulationTechnician NZRC ECI SMalthus@op.ac.nz

Support Staff

2233
  Suzie Bartlett
Senior Lecturer/Course Coordinator suzieb@op.ac.nz

Suzie BartlettSenior LecturerCourse CoordinatorSuzie is a Senior Lecturer and Course Coordinator within the School of Nursing. She has worked at OP since 2012 after spending three years employed as a Clinical Lecturer while working as a clinical RN. She is a Registered Comprehensive Nurse and holds a Masters Degree in Higher Education which includes a research project in the Mental Health Nursing Simulated learning environment..

Rebecca McDiarmid
Lecturer rebeccam@op.ac.nz

Cynthia Mullens
Lecturer cmullens@op.ac.nz