Otago Polytechnic

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

Graham Burgess
Carpentry grahamb@op.ac.nz

Lecturers

969
Brian Turner
Lecturer - Carpentry BTurner@op.ac.nz

Derrick Goodall
Lecturer - Carpentry dgoodall@op.ac.nz

1094
  Matt Thompson
Senior Lecturer - Carpentry mthompson@op.ac.nz

Matt started his building career in 1990. He enrolled in the pretrade carpentry course the same course he currently teaches. After Matt completed an apprenticeship, he worked in Dunedin as a builder before going overseas. He later returned to Dunedin and began teaching Carpentry at Otago Polytechnic in 2004. Matt is now a Senior Lecturer and is passionate about the building industry and getting people ready to work in it.

Publications and Research

Mann, S., Allen, E., Ker, G., Byars, R., Thompson, M., Jenkins, H (2014). Mobile devices to increase student engagement in constructivist tertiary vocational education during #NPF14LMD ASCILITE Conference, Dunedin, November. http://ascilite2014.otago.ac.nz/posters/

View more research here
1903
  Kevin Dunbar
Lecturer - Carpentry KevinD@op.ac.nz

Kevin has enjoyed working at the Otago Polytechnic over the last four years. He started as a Technician before progressing to lecturer in January 2010. Kevin has thirty years industry experience and knowledge to pass on. He obtained his teaching certificate in 2011 and lectures in carpentry. He likes working in this interesting and vibrant industry and enjoys getting students skilled and ready for work.

  Alan Fraser
Lecturer - Carpentry AFraser@op.ac.nz

Alan has worked in the building industry for twentyfive years, mostly in the residential sector. For the last eight years he has been a selfemployed builder in Dunedin. Alan started as a carpentry lecturer at Otago Polytechnic in November 2012. He teaches the precarpentry course to students working towards gaining a carpentry apprenticeship. His teaching involves a mix of theory and practical work, culminating in the construction of a 34 bedroom house.

  David Finnie
Lecturer - ADQSM dfinnie@op.ac.nz

Davids career in the construction industry began as an apprentice carpenter. During this time, he studied Quantity Surveying and worked as a Contracts Manager for seven years. David has been teaching since 2010, and has written articles for the Australasian Journal of Construction Economics and Building and New Zealand Construction News. His continuing studies at Massey University and close industry liaison help him to keep Otago Polytechnics Quantity Surveying and Construction Management diplomas leading edge.

Publications and Research

Finnie, D., Fersterer, C., Qi, Z., Terpstra, C. and Findlay, J. (2014). A student project development for multidisciplinary programs at Otago Polytechnic, 2014 Annual Conference of the Australasian Association for Engineering Education (AAEE2014), Wellington, New Zealand.

View more research here
Bill Morrison
Lecturer - ADQSM billyboy@op.ac.nz

1165
  David Wade
Senior Lecturer - ADQSM dwade@op.ac.nz

David has fourteen years industry experience in various aspects of the draughting and computing industries. He was a part time CAD lecturer at Otago Polytechnic for ten years before becoming full time in 2005. He lectures across, and is the coprogramme manager for, Architectural Draughting, Construction Management and Quantity Surveying programmes. He mainly teaches Computer Aided Draughting across the three years of the Architectural Draughting programme.

Craig McAuliffe
Contractor - ADQSM craigm@op.ac.nz

Peter McDonald
Contractor - ADQSM peterm@op.ac.nz

Technicians

Jamie Todd
Technician - Carpentry jtodd@op.ac.nz