Otago Polytechnic

Head of Department

1086
  Richard Nyhof
Acting Head of School rnyhof@op.ac.nz

Richard began at Otago Polytechnic in 1985, having completed honours degrees in Mathematics and Physics at the University of Otago. He has since completed a Masters in Planning. Over the years, he has taught math related subjects across most schools in Otago Polytechnic, and spent time seconded to Learning and Teaching working on curriculum development.He is currently Acting Head of School ABE.

Publications and Research

Nyhof, R. & Thompson, M. (2016) Redesigning every course! Why, how and why? Ako Aotearoa Academy of Tertiary Teaching Excellence Symposium, 2106. 24 and 25 November at the Brentwood Hotel, Wellington.
http://akoacademy.ac.nz/ako-academy/annual-symposium-2016

View more research here

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

  Stuart Allan
NZDE & BENGTECH sallan@op.ac.nz

Stuart lectures in electrical and engineering management at Otago Polytechnic. He began work in general electrical installation, building services maintenance and electronic scientific and medical equipment servicing, while completing a NZCE (Electrical) at OP. Before joining Otago Polytechnic, Stuart worked in a variety of engineering management and design roles in the infrastructure and manufacturing industries, in product development.

John Stocks
Engineering Trades Learning Leader JohnS@op.ac.nz

2374
  Ziming (Tom) Qi
Director of C-RED-NZ, A/Professor tqi@op.ac.nz

Professor Ziming Tom Qi is the Director of Centre for Research, Engineering and Design of New Zealand. He completed a Bachelor of Engineering at Tianjin University in China before undertaking a Masters at Waikato University and his PhD at Massey University. Tom has worked extensively in the tertiary education and engineering industry sectors and has brought a wealth of knowledge to his teaching at Otago Polytechnic. He is leading Human Centered Design commercialized projects based on Available Engineering and Technology, currently working on an Electric Vehicle with a link to Green Power House.

Publications and Research

Ma, K. & Qi, Z. (2017) A Human Centred Design of Electric Wheelchair Controller with Dual Control Access for Both Drivers of Disabled People and Caregiver. Journal of Computing and Information Science in Engineering. doi: 10.1115/1.4034742

View more research here

Lecturers

  Hamish Miller
Senior Lecturer - Automotive hamishm@op.ac.nz

Hamish started his automotive industry career in Invercargill at SIT. He completed an apprenticeship and Agrade cert in rural southland, before heading overseas for five years. Returning to New Zealand, Hamish started work at Cooke Howlison Ltd. Ten years later Hamish began tutoring at OP and is now Programme Manager. He works closely with industry leaders to ensure students are given the skills they need to match the current automotive industry climate.

  Barry Harwood
Lecturer - Electrical BarryH@op.ac.nz

Barry started at Otago Polytechnic in July 2007 and teaches on the electrical certificate and diploma programmes. He started his electrical career in 1999 with the Royal New Zealand Navy, and travelled as he trained around the South Pacific islands and Asian ports. Following further study, he was employed building large industrial switchboards and motor control centres at MacArthur Switchgear in Hamilton.

  Kevin Tansley
Senior Lecturer - NZDE & BENGTECH ktansley@op.ac.nz

Kevin has an extensive background in technical civil engineering, specifically in traffic engineering, road design, contract administration, operational engineering and asset management. He graduated with an NZCE (Civil) in 1985, and has since gained a National Diploma in Adult Education and Training. Kevin has been teaching at the OP for over 10 years, and was awarded an OPSA Staff Award for teaching in 2007.

1980
  Kerry Adams
Lecturer and Kaiako KAdams@op.ac.nz

Kerry joined the School of Midwifery in 2009 and is a LecturerKaiako. Graduating as a midwife from the Otago programme in 1999, she spent over a year working at the Wellington Womens Hospital. Returning to Dunedin in 2001, she began a Lead Maternity Carer practice and has worked at the Queen Mary as a Core Midwife. Kerry continues to provide a small LMC practice as well as working full time at Otago Polytechnic. Kerry is also involved in professional activities such as a mentor of new midwives in the MFYP programme, an NZCOM approved Expert Advisor for the HDC and on other professional committees for MCNZ and the National Screening Unit.

Mike Perkins
Senior Lecturer - Automotive mperkins@op.ac.nz

  Tony Obbeek
Senior Lecturer - Automotive TOBBEEK@op.ac.nz

Tony is an A grade senior lecturer in Automotive studies. He completed his technical and teacher training in Dunedin and started at Otago Polytechnic in 1996. Tony teaches the level 3, 4 and 5 courses, as well as numerous other courses across campus. He works alongside local high schools and represents the Polytechnic at careers events and expos.

Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer - NZDE & BENGTECH DMaslin@op.ac.nz

1972
Fred Cross
Lecturer - Engineering Trades FCross@op.ac.nz

Nicholas Moss
Senior Lecturer - AutoMech nicholasm@op.ac.nz

  Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer - Maths rcooke@op.ac.nz

Robert CookeSenior Lecturer MathsRobert joined Otago Polytechnic at the start of 2010 and teaches maths and civil engineering. Formerly, a registered civil engineer with Works Consultancy (now Opus Consultants), and then a maths, science and physics secondary school teacher, Robert now lectures in the trades certificate, engineering diploma and the C.E.E. (students from Kanazawa, Japan) courses.

Avinda Weerakoon
Senior Lecturer - NZDE & BENGTECH avindaw@op.ac.nz

2209
  Adrian Tetlow
Learning Leader - Engineering Technologies atetlow@op.ac.nz

Adrian has been lecturing at Otago Polytechnic since 2011 and is really enjoy the role. He has twenty years experience in Mechanical Engineering and worked for Scott Technology, performing a range of tasks that included fitting, machining, designing, and onsite installation and problem solving. Adrian teaches 3D computer modeling and Hand Drawing, and spends some time in the workshop.

  Kevin O'Neill
Senior Lecturer - Automotive koneill@op.ac.nz

Kevin is a fully qualified A grade automotive technician, in both auto mechanical and auto electrical. He has been working in the automotive industry for over fifteen years in Dunedin, Christchurch and Perth both in large workshops and mines. In the last six years, Kevin has focused on electronic fault finding and diagnostics in modern vehicles. He started working at Otago Polytechnic in January of 2012, and teaches our level 3 automotive course.

2379
  Matthew King
Principal Lecturer - NZDE & BENGTECH mking@op.ac.nz

Courses Design, Engineering Project, Manufacturing Processes, Fluid MechanicsCoordinator of the Investigative Sciences Consultancy

Publications and Research

King, M. (2012) Research, testing and investigative techniques, Otago Polytechnic Architecture, Building & Engineering Seminars 1 June.

View more research here
Namarta Jaswal
Senior Lecturer - Maths njaswal@op.ac.nz

Mark Harmer
Lecturer - Maths mharmer@op.ac.nz

2626
Joelle Peters
Lecturer - NZDE & Pre-Engineering joellen@op.ac.nz

Hana Cadzow
Lecturer hnyhof@op.ac.nz

Mike Keppel
Lecturer - NZDE mkeppel@op.ac.nz

  Stuart Hewson
Lecturer - Engineering Trades shewson@op.ac.nz

Stuart began work at the Otago Polytechnic in 2011 and brought many years of industry experience to his role as tutor in the Automech Youth Guarantee course. He trained in fitting, turning and machining worked in appliance manufacturing road transport engineering tunnel boring factory and mine maintenance and the Extra High Voltage Industry subsations and power stations. In his current role, Stuart helps students reengage with education through projectbased learning welding, fabricating machining and assembly. This programme also teaching teamwork, communication, problemsolving and conflict resolution.

Michael Mullens
Part time Lecturer mmullens@op.ac.nz

Technicians

Linley Doig
Technician - NZDE linleyd@op.ac.nz

2248
Jan Jodczyk
Technician - Mechanical Engineering janj@op.ac.nz

Support Staff

Rex Turner
Lecturer - AutoMech RexT@op.ac.nz

Amari Nyhof
Research Assistant anyhof@op.ac.nz

Steve Murphy
Senior Lecturer stevem@op.ac.nz

Peter Williams
Contractor - NZDE peterw@op.ac.nz