Otago Polytechnic

Head of Department

RichardNyhof S
  Richard Nyhof
Head of College Richard.Nyhof@op.ac.nz

Richard began at Otago Polytechnic in 1985, having completed honours degrees in Mathematics and Physics at the University of Otago. He has since completed a Masters in Planning. Over the years, he has taught math related subjects across most schools in Otago Polytechnic, and spent time seconded to Learning and Teaching working on curriculum development.He is currently Acting Head of School ABE.

Publications and Research

Nyhof, R. & Thompson, M. (2016) Redesigning every course! Why, how and why? Ako Aotearoa Academy of Tertiary Teaching Excellence Symposium, 2106. 24 and 25 November at the Brentwood Hotel, Wellington.
http://akoacademy.ac.nz/ako-academy/annual-symposium-2016

View more research here

Lecturers

Avinda Weerakoon
Senior Lecturer Avinda.Weerakoon@op.ac.nz

BarryH
  Barry Harwood
Lecturer Barry.Harwood@op.ac.nz

Barry started at Otago Polytechnic in July 2007 and teaches on the electrical certificate and diploma programmes. He started his electrical career in 1999 with the Royal New Zealand Navy, and travelled as he trained around the South Pacific islands and Asian ports. Following further study, he was employed building large industrial switchboards and motor control centres at MacArthur Switchgear in Hamilton.

Dave Maslin
Senior Lecturer Dave.Maslin@op.ac.nz

FCross
Fred Cross
Lecturer Fred.Cross@op.ac.nz

hamishm
  Hamish Miller
Senior Lecturer Hamish.Miller@op.ac.nz

Hamish started his automotive industry career in Invercargill at SIT. He completed an apprenticeship and A-grade cert in rural southland, before heading overseas for five years. Returning to New Zealand, Hamish started work at Cooke Howlison Ltd. Ten years later; Hamish began tutoring at OP and is now Programme Manager. He works closely with industry leaders to ensure students are given the skills they need to match the current automotive industry climate.

hnyhof
Hana Cadzow
Senior Lecturer Hana.Cadzow@op.ac.nz

square photo for tuhono 2
Joelle Peters
Senior Lecturer Joelle.Peters@op.ac.nz

Kerry photo 290321
  Kerry Adams
Senior Lecturer Kerry.Adams@op.ac.nz

Kerry joined the School of Midwifery in 2009 and is a Senior Lecturer/Kaiako. Kerry graduated from the Bachelor of Midwifery programme in Otago, in 1999. She spent over a year working at Wellington Womens' Hospital and returned to Dunedin in 2001. She began a Lead Maternity Carer (LMC) practice and has worked at the Queen Mary as a Core Midwife. Kerry continues to provide a small LMC practice as well as working full time at Otago Polytechnic. Kerry has been involved in various professional roles including as a NZCOM ratified Expert Adviser, member of the MCNZ Professional Conduct Committee and Midwifery Adviser for the Newborn Metabolic Screening Programme. CurrentlyKerry is involved in professional role as the Deputy Chair of Midwifery Council and is a mentor of new midwives in the MFYP programme.

CORP STAFF headshots KevinOneill opt
  Kevin O'Neill
Senior Lecturer Kevin.O'Neill@op.ac.nz

Kevin is a fully qualified ‘A' grade automotive technician, in both auto mechanical and auto electrical. He has been working in the automotive industry for over fifteen years in Dunedin, Christchurch and Perth – both in large workshops and mines. In the last six years, Kevin has focused on electronic fault finding and diagnostics in modern vehicles. He started working at Otago Polytechnic in January of 2012, and teaches our level 3 automotive course.

  Kevin Tansley
Associate Head of College Kevin.Tansley@op.ac.nz

Kevin has an extensive background in technical civil engineering, specifically in traffic engineering, road design, contract administration, operational engineering and asset management. He graduated with an NZCE (Civil) in 1985, and has since gained a National Diploma in Adult Education and Training. Kevin has been teaching at the OP for over 10 years, and was awarded an OPSA Staff Award for teaching in 2007.

mark
Mark Harmer
Senior Lecturer Mark.Harmer@op.ac.nz

Matt King head2
  Matt King
Associate Professor Matthew.King@op.ac.nz

Courses: Design, Engineering Project, Manufacturing Processes, Fluid Mechanics
Coordinator of the Investigative Sciences Consultancy

Publications and Research

Humphrey, R., Harris, P., King, M. & Rodgers, J. (2017) An assessment of learning opportunities created by a multidisciplinary student project using the model of knowledge creation. Scope Contemporary Research Topics, Learning and Teaching, 3, Powerful Assessment. EPub available December.

View more research here
CORP Staff MichaelMullens dsc6400
Michael Mullens
Senior Lecturer Michael.Mullens@op.ac.nz

Mike Keppel
Lecturer (RNyhoff) Mike.Keppel@op.ac.nz

njaswal
Namarta Jaswal
Senior Lecturer Namarta.Jaswal@op.ac.nz

Nick Moss
Senior Lecturer Nicholas.Moss@op.ac.nz

  Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer Robert.Cooke@op.ac.nz

Robert Cooke
Senior Lecturer - Maths

Robert joined Otago Polytechnic at the start of 2010 and teaches maths and civil engineering. Formerly, a registered civil engineer with Works Consultancy (now Opus Consultants), and then a maths, science and physics secondary school teacher, Robert now lectures in the trades certificate, engineering diploma and the C.E.E. (students from Kanazawa, Japan) courses.

  Stuart Hewson
Lecturer Stuart.Hewson@op.ac.nz

Stuart began work at the Otago Polytechnic in 2011 and brought many years of industry experience to his role as tutor in the Automech Youth Guarantee course. He trained in fitting, turning and machining; worked in appliance manufacturing; road transport engineering; tunnel boring; factory and mine maintenance and the Extra High Voltage Industry- subsations and power stations. In his current role, Stuart helps students re-engage with education through project-based learning – welding, fabricating machining and assembly. This programme also teaching teamwork, communication, problem-solving and conflict resolution.

  Tony Obbeek
Lecturer Tony.Obbeek@op.ac.nz

Tony is an ‘A' grade senior lecturer in Automotive studies. He completed his technical and teacher training in Dunedin and started at Otago Polytechnic in 1996. Tony teaches the level 3, 4 and 5 courses, as well as numerous other courses across campus. He works alongside local high schools and represents the Polytechnic at careers events and expos.

Programme Managers / Coordinators / Professors

atetlow
  Adrian Tetlow
Senior Lecturer (ME@OP Leader) Adrian.Tetlow@op.ac.nz

Adrian has been lecturing at Otago Polytechnic since 2011 and is really enjoy the role. He has twenty years experience in Mechanical Engineering and worked for Scott Technology, performing a range of tasks that included: fitting, machining, designing, and onsite installation and problem solving. Adrian teaches 3D computer modeling and Hand Drawing, and spends some time in the workshop.

John Stocks
Learning Leader John.Stocks@op.ac.nz

Support Staff

Amari Storm
Technical Assistant Amari.Nyhof@op.ac.nz

Technicians

janj
Jan Jodczyk
Technician Jan.Jodczyk@op.ac.nz

Linley Doig
Technician Linley.Doig@op.ac.nz